IN THIS SECTION

Group Members

Prof Goran Mashanovich
email: g.mashanovich@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 2060

Prof Graham Reed
email: G.Reed@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 5494

Dr David Thomson
email: D.Thomson@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 3092

Xia (Ken) Chen
email: xia.chen@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 2697

Dr Frédéric Gardès
email: f.gardes@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 3092

Dr Ali Z. Khokhar
email: azk1c12@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 3127

Dr Cosimo Lacava
email: cl2e14@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 3186

Callum Littlejohns
email: C.Littlejohns@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 2697

Dr Colin Mitchell
email: cjm1c12@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 3127

Milos Nedeljković
email: M.Nedeljkovic@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 2697

Stevan Stanković
email: ss1r12@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 3126

Dr Mehdi Banakar
email: m.banakar@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 6658

Libe Arzubiaga Totorika
email: L.Arzubiaga-Totorika@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 8666

RESEARCH STUDENTS

Scott Reynolds
email: S.Reynolds@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 2697

Jordi Soler Penades
email: jsp1g12@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 2697

Arifa Nazir Ahmed
email: A.N.Ahmed@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 2697

Jon Gorecki
email: J.Gorecki@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059 3163

Katarzyna Grabska
email: K.M.Grabska@soton.ac.uk
tel: +44(0) 23 8059

Silicon Photonics


The Silicon Photonics Group is lead by by Professor Graham T. Reed who formed the group in 1989. Originally based at the University of Surrey, the group carried out the work upon which the first company in silicon photonics was built, Bookham Technology, founded by Reed’s PhD student, Dr Andrew Rickman OBE. 

Initial strategy was to adopt a proof of principle and device optimisation approach. The multidisciplinary group is now based at at the University of Southampton and spans Electronics and Computer Science (ECS), Optoelectronics Research Centre (ORC) and Physics. The activity has evolved to look at larger and more complex circuits, as technology has become more advanced. 

Over the last 20 years, the group has made a significant contribution in the field of silicon photonics most notably in waveguides, optical modulators, grating couplers, optical filters and switches. Collaborations with a number of industrial and academic institutions have been established.

Find out about our PhD projects

Key Publications

Key research breakthroughs: Nonlinear characterization of Ge-on-Si platforms
in the mid-infrared.

Key publications: 6776, 6904 Strain engineering the electronic bandgap
of silicon core fibres.

Key publication: 6687 Characterization of silicon microcylindrical resonators.

Key publications: 5188, 5466, 6123 Nonlinear optical characterisation of hydrogenated amorphous silicon core fibres.

Key publications: 4836, 5207, 5665, 5878 Tapered silicon optical fibres with
tailored nonlinear and dispersion properties.

Key publications: 4712, 4747 Large mode area silicon microstructured
fibres with robust dual mode guidance.

Key publications: 4504, 5135 Optical characterization of low loss semiconductor fibres.

Key publications: 4608, 4836

Copyright University of Southampton 2006